Log in
Log in

Arapahoe County Quilters

Celebrating the Art of Quiltmaking for 30+ Years

About ACQ

Our Mission

The purpose of Arapahoe County Quilters (ACQ) Inc. is to expand the art of quilting through providing educational opportunities to grow and learn about quilting, to share the talent of quilting through charitable activities, and to gather to enjoy the fellowship and friendship of other quilters.  The guild is not exclusive to the makers of quilts, but includes all who find interest and worth in the collection and presentation of our fiber arts and heritage.

Our History

In 1987, Diane Hienton and Barb Lister were new to Denver. They missed the large active guilds they had known in other locations. With the encouragement of their small neighborhood quilting group, The Piece Corps, they started planning how to organize a quilt group.

As former teachers, they knew how to plan! Hours were spent developing goals and a direction for this new guild. They advertised an organizational meeting to be held in May 1987 at the Castlewood Library

On May 21, 1987 the first meeting of Arapahoe County Quilters was held. At the June meeting, 35 members paid dues of $10 and the guild was off and running.

Founding Officers

  • President - Diane Hienton
  • Vice-President - Barb Lister
  • Secretary - Karen Nein
  • Treasurer - Mary Beth Matousek

ACQ Through the Years - Fun Facts About our Guild

ACQ was formed in May of 1987. The logo was designed by Janet Robinson and the meetings were held at the Castlewood Library.

There were 50 Charter Members in the first Roster.

Their first Block of the Month was: The Ohio Star. 

The first door prizes were donated by:

  • The Creative Needle
  • The Great American Quilt Factory

They started the Charitable Quilt Committee that year and used to get together for sew days. However, they were tying quilts back then.

The first workshop was in 1989 and was on Fast Triangles by Joann Rosenberg

The name "Festival of Quilts" was submitted by Lois Edwards as the winning name for our Quilt Show and the first show took place on Oct 12 at the University of Denver. There were 80 quilts representing 36 quilters.

Past Guild Presidents

1987-89 Diane Hienton

1988-89 Barb Lister

1989-90 Karen Nein

1990-91 Afton Barnes

1991-92 Carol Medsker

1992-93 Sherri Driver

1993-94 Christine Brown                 

1994-95 Joan Christopherson

1995-96 Bonnie Comar

1996-97 Kathy Giese 

1997-98 Laurie Asbell

1998-99 Betsy Tauer

1999-01 Christine Hause

2001-02 Cindy Harp

2002-03 Francie Fiechter

2003-04 Nathlia Holtz

2004-06 Barbara Karst

2007-08 Denise Starck

2009 Sharon Mirabella

2010-12 Lucy Rognes

2012 Julie Birdwell

2013-14 Kathy Ruppert

2015 Amy Flynn

2016 Pat Syta

2017 Kelly Collins 

2018 Jenny Kay Parks

2019-20 Terry Chase

2021-22 Jen Dietz

2023 - Current Diane Sheriff

Three Pillars of ACQ


Meetings held the 2nd Thursday of each month

All meetings are streamed online

In person meetings are held at:

Our Father Lutheran Church

6335 S Holly St, Centennial, CO


 © 2024 Arapahoe Count


Arapahoe County Quilters
PO Box 5357
Englewood, CO 80155


Sign up for our #ACQfriends email list for occasional news for the quilt-loving general public.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software